Switch to Full View
 
 

Basic Economic Development Courses (BEDC)


Providing a solid foundation for entry-level economic development practitioners, Basic Economic Development Courses serve as the equivalent to IEDC's Introduction to Economic Development course in preparation for the IEDC Certification exam. Accreditation by IEDC ensures that each BEDC covers subject areas determined to be the core building blocks in any economic development organization.

These courses are run independently from IEDC and independently from one another. If you would like more information or would like to register, please use the given contact for each course for more detailed information.

 

» View full screen

 

BEDC Schedule


Texas Spring Basic Economic Development Course
April 12 - 15, 2016
Location: San Antonio, TX
Contact: Amy Swank (amy@texasedc.org) and Carlton Schwab (carlton@texasedc.org)
Phone: (512) 480-8432
Website: www.texasedc.org


Heartland Economic Development Course for Iowa, Missouri, Nebraska, Kansas, Oklahoma & South Dakota
April 24 - 28, 2016
Location: Kansas City Metro Area
Contact: James Hoelscher (james.hoelscher@uni.edu)
Phone: (800) 782-9520


Tennessee Basic Economic Development Course
May 2 - 5, 2016
Location: Nashville, TN
Kim K. Denton, CEcD (kim.denton@tennessee.edu)
Phone: (865) 974-8464
Website: cis.tennessee.edu/tbedc


Colorado Basic Economic Development Course
June 13 - 17, 2016
Location: Denver, CO
Contact: Michelle Claymore, CEcD (mclaymore@c3gov.com)
Phone: (303) 289-3747
Website: www.edcconline.org


Basic Economic Development Course at SUNY Albany
June 20 - 23, 2016
Location: Albany, NY
Contact: Selene M. Eaton (eaton@nysedc.org)
Phone: (518) 426-4058
Website: www.nysedc.org


Auburn University Basic Economic Development Course
July 11 - 15, 2016
Location: Auburn, AL
Contact: Amelia Hall (hallame@auburn.edu)
Phone: (334) 844-5394
Website: www.auburn.edu/intensivecourse


New Mexico Economic Development Course
July 17 - 21, 2016
Location: Silver City, NM
Contact: Linda McArthur (linda.mcarthur@wnmu.edu)
Phone: (575) 538-6320
Website: www.wnmu.edu/events/edc


Upper Midwest Basic Economic Development Course
July 18 - 22, 2016
Location: Duluth, MN
Contact: Sandi Larson (slarson1@d.umn.edu) or (umdced@d.umn.edu)
Phone: (218) 726-7975
Website: umdced.com


North Carolina Basic Economic Development Course
July 25 - 28, 2016
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Contact: Dr. Jonathan Morgan (morgan@sog.unc.edu)
Phone: (919) 843-0972
Website: www.sog.unc.edu


Chesapeake Basic Economic Development Course
July 25 - 29, 2016
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact: Pam Ruff (pamr@medamd.com)
Phone: (410) 347-1246
Website: www.medamd.com


Kentucky Institute for Economic Development Basic Course
August 22 - 25, 2016
Location: Lexington, KY
Contact: Wayne Foster (kied@twc.com), Phone: (859) 421-4824
Connie Blakemore (csblak00@uky.edu), Phone: (800) 284-6407
Website: gatton.uky.edu/eec/KIED


Northwest Economic Development Course
August 22 - 25, 2016
Location: Ellensburg, WA
Contact: (linda.alongi@commerce.wa.gov)
Phone: (360) 725-4031
Website: www.commerce.wa.gov/nwedcourse


Michigan Basic Economic Development Course
September 12 - 15, 2016
Location: Lansing, MI
Contact: Cassandra Jorae (cjorae@medaweb.org)
Phone: (517) 241-0011
Website: www.medaweb.org


Wisconsin Basic Economic Development Course
September 12 - 15, 2016
Location: Madison, WI
Contact: Brian Doudna (bdoudna@weda.org)
Phone: (608) 255-5666
Website: www.weda.org


True South Basic Economic Development Course
September 19 - 22, 2016
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Contact: Chad R. Miller, PhD (chad.r.miller@usm.edu)
Phone: (601) 266-6666
Website: www.usm.edu


New England Basic Economic Development Course
October 3 - 6, 2016
Location: Windsor Locks, CT
Contact: Mark Waterhouse, CEcD FM HLM (mwaterhouse@snet.net)
Phone: (860) 379-7449
Website: www.needc.org


48th Annual Accredited Illinois BEDC
October 17 - 21, 2016
Location: Naperville, IL (Metro Chicago)
Contact: Ivan Baker, CEcD AICP (ibaker@tinleypark.org)
Phone: (708) 444-5030
Website: www.bedcillinois.com


British Columbia Basic Economic Development Course
October 23 - 26, 2016
Location: Pacific Gateway Hotel, Richmond, BC
Contact: Dale Wheeldon (dwheeldon@bceda.ca)
Phone: (604) 795-7119
Website: bceda.ca/content/wed-course


Introduction to Economic Development Certificate Program
October 24 - 27, 2016
Location: Fresno State University – Fresno, CA
Contact: My Kristy Nong (mknong@caled.org)
Phone: (916) 448-8252, ext. 13
Website: www.caled.org


Texas Fall Basic Economic Development Course
November 7 - 10, 2016
Location: Frisco, TX
Contact: Amy Swank (amy@texasedc.org) and Carlton Schwab (carlton@texasedc.org)
Phone: (512) 480-8432
Website: www.texasedc.org


39th USF Basic Economic Development Course
November 7 - 10, 2016
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact: Lisa Bonilla (lbonilla@usf.edu)
Phone: (813) 905-5803
Website: www.SBDCtampabay.com


Economic Development Course in Pennsylvania
December 5 - 8, 2016
Location: Lancaster, PA
Contact: Nicole Sturges (nls17@psu.edu)
Phone: (717) 948-6117
Website: www.bedcpa.org


MEXICO CETYS BEDC
October 14 - 15, and 28 - 29, November 11 - 12, and 25 - 26, 2016
Location: Mexicali, Baja California
Contact: Rudy Andrade (rodolfo@apconsultores.mx) or Francisco Velez (francisco.velez@cetys.mx)
Website: www.cetys.mx