Switch to Full View

Join #EconDev’s largest annual gathering

Each year, the IEDC Annual Conference hosts the largest gathering of economic development professionals, partners and stakeholders in the world. Our 2019 conference theme, Driving Growth: The Race for Talent, Innovation, and Place will explore the intersections between workforce development, economic clusters, and opportunity zones as key economic development topics happening in every community. The race for qualified talent requires economic developers and those involved in economic development to work collaboratively more than ever. From livability, housing, infrastructure, partnerships, developing future businesses, and cultivating an experienced workforce in addition to the more traditional business focused work done each day, every element within an economic development professional’s purview is changing, requiring us to reach across silos and work together in search of new solutions.

With over 1,400 attendees from across the economic development spectrum, the 2019 IEDC Annual Conference will serve as a showcase for cutting-edge economic development efforts in communities around the world, and as a place where we can search for those new solutions together. This truly unique gathering will feature distinguished keynote speakers, dozens of interactive sessions led by industry experts, networking events, and educational tours throughout the Indianapolis metro area. It is the only yearly event which draws from the global community of professionals in economic development—all who come to access new tools for advancing their jobs agenda, share best practices, and network. Through over 40 sessions of content, attendees will explore six critical learning tracks: 

  • Livability
  • Future Business, Future Worker
  • Housing
  • Talent Partnerships
  • Business Clusters 
  • Infrastructure

Keynote speakers include: 

  • Cythia Bowen, Immediate Past President, American Planning Association
  • Alejandra Castillo, CEO, YWCA
  • Amy J. Clickner, CEcD, CFRM, CEO, Lake Superior Community Partnership
  • The Honorable John C. Fleming, M.D., Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Economic Development, U.S. Department of Commerce
  • Todd Greene, CEcD, Executive Director, Atlanta University Center Consortium
  • Anne Hazlett, Senior Advisor, White House Office of National Drug Control Policy
  • The Honorable Eric Holcomb, Governor of Indiana
  • Maurice A. Jones, President & CEO, Local Initiatives Support Cooperation
  • The Honorable Gilbert Kaplan, Under Secretary of Commerce for International Trade, U.S. Department of Commerce
  • Thomas A. Kucharski, CEcD, President & CEO, Invest Buffalo Niagara
  • Tracye McDaniel, President, TIP Strategies, Inc.
  • Kenny McDonald, President & Chief Economic Officer, Columbus 2020
  • Dr. Ray Perryman, President & CEO, The Perryman Group
  • Jonas Peterson, CEcD, President & CEO, Las Vegas Economic Alliance (LVGEA)
  • Craig J. Richard, CEcD, FM, President & CEO, Tampa Hillsborough Economic Development Corporation
  • Dr. Anne-Marie Slaughter, President & CEO, New America

See the full conference program, who’s speaking, networking events, professional development opportunities and registration information at iedconline.org/AnnualConference. Register before the Sept. 20 regular registration deadline to get the best value on your fees while joining your colleagues in Indy this October!