Switch to Full View

Honorary Life Member Designation (HLM)

Honorary Lifetime Member (HLM) status is conferred upon active or former members of IEDC who have furthered the profession of economic development and have been a teacher or inspiration on the part of the profession to others in many communities.



Mark Lautman, CEcD, FM, HLM

Mark Lautman, CEcD, FM, is the owner of Lautman Economic Architecture in Albuquerque, NM. During his 35 year career as a professional economic developer, Mark Lautman designed and managed four job creation programs. Together his programs produced over 80 project transactions, 15,000 new jobs, 6 million square feet of industrial space, and $11 billion dollars in new investment. He is a Fellow and Honorary Life Member of the International Economic Development Council. He served ten years as Chairman of the New Mexico Economic Development Commission and recently directed the New Mexico Legislative Jobs Council.

In 2000, Mark began to realize that a powerful combination of economic and demographic forces were changing the job creation game and making it much more difficult for community leaders to manage their local economies.

In 2007 he and a group of colleagues founded the Community Economics Lab, a not-for-profit think tank focused on understanding these new forces and developing new approaches to economic and workforce development. Recent breakthroughs include:

1. Development and test of a more rigorous, comprehensive and agile strategic planning process for economic development.
2. Pioneering of new approaches to economic development in the areas of Entrepreneurship, Solowork and Retirement.
3. Finding new ways to elevate and integrate economic development, workforce development and poverty reduction strategies at the state and local level.

In 2011 he wrote a book titled: “When the Boomers Bail,” available on Amazon.com about how a growing shortage of qualified workers would become a primary constraint to the development of most economies.

He is writing a new book about why the acceleration of the growth in human knowledge and productive capacity will require we develop a new, more comprehensive and rigorous algorithm for planning and managing our economic development efforts.

He has been a frequent speaker at conferences in the US, Canada, China and South East Asia.

In addition to his thought leadership work, Lautman is a co-founder and current President of InvestUS, a fully staffed EB-5 Regional Center. His consulting business, Lautman Economic Architecture, LLC, is engaged in a diverse range of program design and development projects.

He is a 1971 graduate of The University of New Mexico in Economics, Architecture and Geography, and a former Peace Corps Volunteer. Mark lives in Albuquerque, New Mexico with his wife Mary Anne. He has three grown children, five grandchildren, and is an open-water swimmer and alpinist.

Noreen Krewer-Scott, CEcD, FM, HLM

Noreen Krewer-Scott, CEcD, FM is the Managing Member of New Mexico Economic Catalyst Foundation in Rio Rancho, NM. Noreen served as the President of the Rio Rancho Economic Development Corporation, a position she held from 1994-2014. In that 20-year period, Rio Rancho’s population grew from 28,000 to over 100,000. The RREDC team oversaw the location and expansion of 63 companies and added over 15,000 jobs to the region. The location of quality companies like Sprint, Hewlett Packard, Victoria’s Secret, Alliance Data, Bank of America and many others along with three expansions of the Intel Corporation made Rio Rancho the go-to location in New Mexico. Currently the New Mexico Economic Catalyst Foundation continues New Mexico focused location and expansion services along with training statewide.

Noreen holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Journalism from Mundelein College, Loyola University in Chicago, a Master’s Degree in Guidance and Counseling from Western New Mexico University, and is a graduate of the University of Oklahoma Economic Development Institute. Spearheaded the organization and implementation of the Rural Economic Development Forum, and was a New Mexico representative to the Council of Governors Policy Advisors Rural Academy. Noreen is also a founding member of the New Mexico Economic Development Institute at Western New Mexico University and currently serves on the faculty of the Economic Development Institute. She has served on the faculty of the Economic Development at the University of Minnesota in Duluth and the Economic Development Institute in Norman, Oklahoma. Noreen is past chair and has served on the Education and Certification committee for the International Economic Development Council.

Previous Honorary Life Members

• Robert Ady, HLM 
• Jack Allston, CEcD FM, HLM
• J. Frank Alspaugh, CEcD, FM, HLM
• Herbert Bailey, HLM
• Terry Bailey, CEcD, EDFP, FM, HLM
• William B. Barrett, FM, HLM
• C. Harry Behney, FM, HLM
• Bernard Berkowitz, HLM
• Frank Birkhead, CEcD, FM, HLM
• Thomas Blanchard, HLM
• Henry Bostwick, Jr., FM, HLM
• LaDene H. Bowen, CEcD, FM, HLM
• M. Ross Boyle, CEcD, FM, HLM
• Dyan L. Brasington, CEcD, FM, HLM
• Ronnie Bryant, CEcD, FM, HLM
• Steve Budd, FM, HLM
• Austin Burke, HLM
• Robert B. Cassell, CED, FM, HLM
• William M. Castoro, FM, HLM
• Kurt Chilcott, CEcD, FM, HLM
• John P. Claypool, HLM
• J. B. Coffey, Sr., FM, HLM
• Larry D. Cohick, HLM
• Ronald Cooksley, HLM
• Gary Conley, HLM
• John E. Corrigan, HLM
• James A. Covell, CEcD, FM, HLM
• George W. Cregg, Sr., CEcD, FM, HLM
• Walter D'Alessio, HLM
• Richard L. DeChant, FM, HLM
• James A. Devine, CEcD, FM, HLM
• Kenneth Dobson, FM, HLM, HLM
• Robert T. Dormer, HLM
• John R. Drummy, FM, HLM
• Donald G. Dunshee, CED, FM, HLM
• Murray A. Elder, HLM
• Thomas J. Flood, Ec.D., FM, HLM
• Harry G. Foden, FM, HLM
• Charliegh Ford, Jr., CEcD, HLM
• Thomas J. Ford, CEcD, FM, HLM, Emeritus
• Danny G. Fore, CEcD, FM, HLM, HLM, AICP
• Tom L. Gage, CED, HLM
• Jay Garner, CEcD, CCE, FM, HLM
• James A. Garver, CEcD, FM, HLM
• Vernon George, HLM
• John L. Gescheider, CED, FM, HLM
• Victor Grgas, HLM
• James W. Griffin, CEcD, FM, HLM
• James H. Gullyes, HLM
• Daniel C. Gundersen, FM, HLM
• John M. Hamilton, FM, HLM
• James Hankla, HLM
• Fred H. Harris, FM, HLM
• L. S. Hickman, Jr., HLM
• Emery D. Hoenshell, FM, HLM
• James M. Jennings, CEcD, FM, HLM
• Rex Jennings, FM, HLM
• George T. Karras, HLM
• James K. Keefe, FM, HLM
• Gilbert Gib Keith, CED, FM, HLM
• Richard L. Kelso, CEcD, FM, HLM
• Richard M. Kinne, FM, HLM
• James R. Kinnett II, CEcD, FM, HLM, EDFP
• Robert L. Koepke, CEcD, HLM, PhD
• Eugene A. Kraut, HLM, CED
• Ronald Kysiak, HLM
• Robert E. Leak, Sr., HLM, CED, Emeritus
• Ted M. Levine, HLM
• Joe Marinucci, FM, HLM
• William McDermott, CEcD, FM, HLM
• Harry K. McLemore, FM, HLM, CED
• Jack H. Mikula, HLM
• Paul W. Miller, FM, HLM
• James W. Monroe, CEcD, HLM
• Joseph A. Montgomery, CEcD, FM, HLM
• Mary Ann Moon, CEcD, FM, HLM
• John D. Morand, CEcD, FM, HLM
• Ioanna Morfessis, HLM, PhD
• Bruce Murray, HLM
• Stewart Neel, FM, HLM
• Edward Nelson, CEcD, HLM
• Michael Olivier, CEcD, FM, HLM
• Stephen Paquette, FM, HLM
• D. Kenneth Patton, HLM
• Donis N. Petersan, Ph.D., CEcD
• Otto W. Pongrace, FM, HLM
• James O. Roberson, CEcD, FM, HLM
• Melvin Roebuck, HLM
• Judie A. Scalise, CEcD, FM, HLM
• Rosemary Scanlon, HLM
• Robert B. Seal, FM, HLM
• Bill R. Shelton, CEcD, FM, HLM
• Robert W. Shively, CEcD, EM, FM, HLM
• C. Mark Smith, FM, HLM
• William R. Smith, FM, HLM
• William A. Spitzenberger, FM, HLM
• Walter C. Sprouse, CEcD CCE FM, HLM HLM
• Robert J. Stapleton, CEcD, FM, HLM
• Wayne L. Sterling, CEcD, FM, HLM
• John Sternlicht, JD, CEcD, HLM
• Wes Stucky, HLM
• Marilyn Swartz-Lloyd, HLM
• David C. Sweet, PhD, FM, HLM
• Merrill J. Teulon, HLM
• Richard Thrasher, CEcD, FM, HLM
• John F. Walsh, HLM
• Mark Waterhouse CEcD, FM, HLM
• Rick Weddle, FM, HLM
• David A. Wilcox, FM, HLM
• Andrew Wilson, HLM
• April Young, HLM, PhD