Switch to Full View
 
 

Basic Economic Development Courses (BEDC)


Providing a solid foundation for entry-level economic development practitioners, Basic Economic Development Courses serve as the equivalent to IEDC's Introduction to Economic Development course in preparation for the IEDC Certification exam. Accreditation by IEDC ensures that each BEDC covers subject areas determined to be the core building blocks in any economic development organization.

These courses are run independently from IEDC and independently from one another. If you would like more information or would like to register, please use the given contact for each course for more detailed information.

2021 BEDC Schedule


February 2-5, 2021
Louisiana
Hammond, LA
Karen Romero
kromero@selu.edu
985-549-3831
www.lideatraining.com/training courses


February 8-12, 2021
Arizona Association
Phoenix, AZ
Carrie Kelley
carrie@aaed.com
602-240-2233
www.aaed.com


March 23 - March 26, 2021
Georgia Tech
Atlanta, GA
Alan Durham
alan.durham@innovate.gatech.edu
404-385-5137
www.gt-bedc.org


April-June 2021  
Ohio
Columbus, OH
Mark Barbash
mbarbash@ohioed.com
(614) 774-7599
www.ohioeda.com/events


April 5-8, 2021  
Mid-South
Little Rock, AR
Shelley Short
shelley@aedce.org
501-210-4206
www.aedce.org/mid-south-basic


April 12–16 & 19-22, 2021
Heartland
Cedar Falls, IA
James Hoelscher, CEcD
james.hoelscher@uni.edu
319-273-6944
https://bcs.uni.edu/heartland/


May 3-6, 2021
Tennessee
Knoxville, TN
Kim Denton, CEcD
kim.denton@tennessee.edu
865-974-8464
www.cis.tennessee.edu/tbedc


June 2021
New York
Albany, NY
Robert Camoin
rcamoin@camoinassociates.com
518.899.2608 ext 102
https://www.nysedc.org


July 12-16, 2021
Auburn University
Auburn, AL
David Mixson
mixsoad@auburn.edu
334-844-3887
http://auburn.edu/outreach/gedi/ intensive/


July 18-23, 2021
Western New Mexico University
Rio Rancho, NM
Noreen Scott
noreen.scott73@gmail.com
505-710-7172
https://econdevacademy.com/


July 26-30, 2021
Chesapeake
Frederick, MD
Pam Ruff
pamr@medamd.com
410-347-1246
https://www.medamd.com/


August 2-5, 2021
NC Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC
Jonathan Morgan
morgan@sog.unc.edu
919-843-0972
www.sog.unc.edu/courses/basic-economic-development


August 16-19, 2021
Kentucky
Frankfort, KY
Matt Tackett
mtackett@kaedonline.org
859-338-6784
www.kaedonline.org


August 16-19, 2021
Northwest
Ellensburg, WA
Linda Alongi
linda.alongi@commerce.wa.gov
(360) 725-4031
www.commerce.wa.gov/nwedcourse


August 30 - September 3, 2021
Indiana Communities Institute
Muncie, IN
Brian Blackford
bablackford@bsu.edu
765-285-4912
www.bsu.edu/ici


September 13-16, 2021
Wisconsin
Madison, WI
Brian Doudna
bdoudna@weda.org
608-255-5666
www.weda.org


September 14-16, 2021
Michigan
Lansing, MI
John Avery
avery.john@medaweb.org
517-241-0011
www.medaweb.org


September 20-23, 2021
True South
Hattiesburg, MS
Chad Miller
chad.r.miller@usm.edu
601-266-6666
www.usm.edu/trent-lott-nationalcenter/true-south-basic


October 18-22, 2021
52nd Annual Illinois
Naperville, IL
Cindy Cobetto
cgorsag@siue.edu
618-650-2164
www.bedillinois.org


October 18-21, 2021
California BEDC
Fresno, CA
Helen Schaubmayer
Helen@caled.org
916-448-8252, ext. 16
www.caled.org


October 26-29, 2021
TEDC Fall
Austin, TX
Crystal Chism Fulbright
crystal@texasedc.org
512-480-8432
www.texasedc.org


November 2-5, 2021
Florida SBDC at NSF
Tampa, FL
Kris Manning
kmanning@usf.edu
813-905-5806
https://sbdctampabay.com/bedc2021/


November 1 - January 31, 2022
British Columbia
Chilliwack, BC
Dale Wheeldon
DWHEELDON@BCEDA.CA
604-795-7199
www.bceda.ca/basic_economic_development_cou.php

 

Travel Notice :

Check your travel identification and be aware that beginning January 22, 2018, and according to the REAL ID Act, some states' driver’s licenses will not be considered valid forms of identification for travel.

Learn more about the REAL ID Act and find out if your state is compliant.

www.dhs.gov/real-id