Switch to Full View
 
 

Basic Economic Development Courses (BEDC)


Providing a solid foundation for entry-level economic development practitioners, Basic Economic Development Courses serve as the equivalent to IEDC's Introduction to Economic Development course in preparation for the IEDC Certification exam. Accreditation by IEDC ensures that each BEDC covers subject areas determined to be the core building blocks in any economic development organization.

These courses are run independently from IEDC and independently from one another. If you would like more information or would like to register, please use the given contact for each course for more detailed information.

 

» View full screen

 

2018 BEDC Schedule


New York Basic Economic Development Course
June 11-14, 2018
Albany, NY
Contact: Emily Simmons
simmons@nysedc.org
Website: www.nysedc.org


Colorado Basic Economic Development Course
June 11-15, 2018
Denver, CO
Contact: Michelle Claymore
mclaymore@c3gov.com
303-289-3747
Website: www.edcconline.org


Auburn University Basic Economic Development Course
July 9-13, 2018
Auburn University
Contact: Morgan Saintjones
Morgan.Saintjones@auburn.edu
334-844-1901
Website: www.auburn.edu/intensivecourse


New Mexico Basic Economic Development Course
July 22-26, 2018
Western New Mexico University
Contact: Noreen Scott
Noreen.Scott73@gmail.com
(505) 710-7172
Website: IAEcondev.org


Upper Mid-West Basic Economic Development Course
July 23 - 27, 2018
University of Minnesota Duluth
Sandi Larson
umdced@d.umn.edu
218-726-7298
Website: umdced.com


Chesapeake Basic Economic Development Course
July 23-26, 2018
UMBC Columbus Center
Pam Ruff
pamr@medamd.com
410-347-1246
Website: www.medamd.com


North Carolina Basic Economic Development Course
July 30 – August 2, 2018
Chapel Hill, NC
Jonathan Morgan
Morgan@sog.unc.edu
919-843-0972
Website: www.sog.unc.edu/courses/basic-economic-development


Northwest Economic Development Course
August 2018
Ellensburg, Washington
Linda Alongi
Linda.Alongi@commerce.wa.gov
360-725-4031
Website: www.commerce.wa.gov/nwedcourse


Michigan Basic Economic Development Course
September 10-13, 2018
Lansing, MI
John Avery
meda@medaweb.org
517-241-0011
Website: www.medaweb.org


True South Basic Economic Development Course
September 17 - 20, 2018
Hattiesburg, MS
Chad R. Miller
Chad.r.miller@usm.edu
601-266-6666


Texas Fall 2018 BEDC
September 18-21, 2018
Arlington, TX
Contact: Amy Swank
amy@texasedc.org


50th Annual Illinois BEDC
October 15-19, 2018
Naperville (Chicago Metro) Illinois
Ivan Baker, CEcD, AICP, FM – course director
ibaker@edcNCI.org
815-224-0645
Website: www.BEDCIllinois.com


California Basic Economic Development Course
October 22-25, 2018
Fresno State, University Business Center, Craig School of Business
My Kristy Nong
mknong@caled.org
(916) 448-8252, ext. 13
Website: www.caled.org


Florida SBDC at USF
Nov 6-9, 2018
Kris Manning
kmanning@usf.edu
813.905.5806
Website: SBDCTampaBay.com/bedc2018


Pennsylvania Basic Economic Development Course
December 3-6, 2018
Eden Resort & Suites, Lancaster, PA
Nicole Sturges
nls17@psu.edu
717-948-6117
Website: www.bedcpa.org

 

Travel Notice :

Check your travel identification and be aware that beginning January 22, 2018, and according to the REAL ID Act, some states' driver’s licenses will not be considered valid forms of identification for travel.

Learn more about the REAL ID Act and find out if your state is compliant.

www.dhs.gov/real-id