Switch to Full View
 
 

Basic Economic Development Courses (BEDC)


Providing a solid foundation for entry-level economic development practitioners, Basic Economic Development Courses serve as the equivalent to IEDC's Introduction to Economic Development course in preparation for the IEDC Certification exam. Accreditation by IEDC ensures that each BEDC covers subject areas determined to be the core building blocks in any economic development organization.

These courses are run independently from IEDC and independently from one another. If you would like more information or would like to register, please use the given contact for each course for more detailed information.

 

2020 BEDC Schedule


Ohio BEDC
Online Course Access: June 1 - September 30, 2020
(Must Register by May 15)
Tracey Hogan
tracey@assnoffices
614-228-4725
Website: www.ohioeda.com/events
Additional Instructions will be provided following registration


Colorado BEDC
Postponed Unit 2021
Michelle Claymore
mclaymore@c3gov.com
303-289-3747
Website: www.edcconline.org


New York BEDC
July 13 - August 28, 2020 (Online)
Emily Simmons
simmons@nysedc.org
518-426-4058
Website: www.nysedc.org


Western New Mexico University BEDC
AZ and CO receive in-state tuition rate
July 19 - August 28, 2020 (Register by July 10)
Live Zoom Class held every Friday, 9 am-12 pm
Case Studies every Monday or Tuesday
Noreen Scott: noreen.scott73@gmail.com
505-710-7172
Website: https://iaecondev.org   
*Registrants will have access to course recordings  


Chesapeake BEDC
July 27-31, 2020 (Online)
Sandy Sponaugle
sandy@medamd.com
410-347-1246
Website: www.medamd.com


NC Chapel Hill BEDC (Online)
August 3-6, 2020
Jonathan Morgan
morgan@sog.unc.edu
919-843-0972
Website: www.sog.unc.edu/course/basic-economic-development


Heartland BEDC
August 11-14
James Hoelscher, CEcD
james.hoelscher@uni.edu
319-273-6944
Website: www.bcs.uni.edu/heartland


Kentucky BEDC
August 19 - December 12, 2020 (Online)
Matt Tackett
mtackett@kaedonline.org
502-227-9653
Website: www.kaedonline.org


Northwest BEDC
Postponed Unit 2021
Linda Alongi
linda.alongi@commerce.wa.gov
360-725-4031
Website: startup.choosewashingtonstate.com/bedc


Tennessee BEDC (Online)
August 24-27, 2020
Kim Denton, CEcD
kim.denton@tennessee.edu
865-974-8464
Website: www.cis.tennessee.edu/tbedc


Georgia Tech BEDC
August 31-September 3 (In Person)
Alan Durham
alan.durham@innovate.gatech.edu
404-385-5137
Website: www.gt-bedc.org


Wisconsin BEDC (Online)
*Registration is full
September 14-17, 2020
Brian Doudna
bdoudna@weda.org
608-265-5666
Website: www.weda.org


Michigan BEDC (Online)
September 15-18, 2020
John Avery
avery.john@medaweb.org
517-241-0011
Website: www.medaweb.org/basiccourse


Auburn University BEDC (Online)
September 21-25, 2020
Amelia Hall Stehouwer & Julia Heflin
hallame@auburn.edu cc: heflijb@auburn.edu
334-844-4782
Website: auburn.edu/outreach/gedi/intensive/


True South BEDC (Online) 
September 21-24, 2020
Dr. Chad Miller
chad.r.miller@usm.edu
601-266-6666
Website: www.usm.edu/trent-lott-national-center/


Mid-South BEDC
September 28- October 1, 2020
Shelley Short
shelley@aedce.org
501-210-4206
Website: www.aedce.org/mid-south-basic


Minnesota BEDC
October 1, 8, 22 and 25 (Online)
Janna King, Rhea Sullivan
jking@econdevelop.org and rhea@edam.org
952-928-4640
Website: www.edam.org
*Registration is Currently Full


52th Annual Illinois BEDC
Postponed Unit 2021
Cindy Cobetto
cgorsag@siue.edu
618-650-2164
Website: www.ileda.org/bedc

 

California BEDC (Online)
October 19-22, 2020
Helen Schaubmayer
helen@caled.org
916-448-8252 ext. 16
Website: http://www.caled.org


Texas Economic Development Council’s Fall BEDC (Online)
October 27-30, 2020
Crystal Fulbright
crystal@texasedc.org
512-480-8432
Website: texasedc.org/programs/events


Florida SBDC at USF BEDC
November 3-6, 2020
Kris Manning
kmanning@usf.edu
813-905-5806
Website: www.sbdctampabay.com/bedc

 

Travel Notice :

Check your travel identification and be aware that beginning January 22, 2018, and according to the REAL ID Act, some states' driver’s licenses will not be considered valid forms of identification for travel.

Learn more about the REAL ID Act and find out if your state is compliant.

www.dhs.gov/real-id